Parenting Reflections – Things I’ve been thinking about

Things I’ve been thinking about

-Balance of correction and praise –   Make an extra effort to praise after he’s been given significant correction

-a teaching/ gentle guiding tone of voice rather than a reprimanding tone of voice.  Discuss the problem with them… talk to them about feelings….

-Don’t be afraid to learn together…   talk to him about the things that I am not very good at either (eg- managing negative emotions) and work on strategies, and encourage each other together.

-life, kids and me.   Try to be myself and do things I love as much as I can, let the kids join in if they want…  and if they don’t want, that’s ok too.  I don’t want to feel like my kids are stopping me from doing the things I love.  And I want my kids to see me doing the things I love.

-Standing my ground.  I get a bit cranky trying to stand my ground when I am attacked with tears of unfairness.  I need to work on staying calm and confident that I have made the right decision.  Without getting cross about it, I need to acknowledge his feelings, and assure him that he will be ok, that is just the way it is.   My tone should also reassure him that I love and care about him.

 

Leave a Reply

